My cane, my constant companion

After a couple days of hobbling around in excruciating agony, it occurred to me that my mother had left a cane behind on one of her visits.  I got it out of the closet, and after that it never left my side.  That included in the shower – I would just pull off the rubber foot after I got out to drain the water that had collected.  That also includes sleeping with it, so that when I wake up I know exactly where it is.

Of course, since I associated that cane with my mother, after a couple of weeks I decided to get one of my own.  More masculine.  OK – I also get bored and like to shop on Amazon.  So, I ordered one of these:


(If you click the image and buy one, Amazon gives me a few cents)

After a month, I have the following to say.

Pros:

  • Foam handle is softer on my hand
  • Plain black
  • Sturdy (300 lb limit)

Cons:

  • Not as sturdy as my previous cane.  That one has a “T” handle directly over the shaft.  This one feels like it flexes a little bit.
  • Not as easy to get the rubber foot off to pour the water out after taking a shower
  • The height that I got used to on the first cane seems to be halfway between two heights on this cane.

Conclusion:  It’s a good cane, but for a larger individual like me, I’ll probably go to a “T” handle for my next purchase.

Leave a Reply

